My Dear Brother

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Delayed Contact.”

If I met my brother for the first time this year, I know I would be happy to be acquainted with him. He is my youngest brother and he is very special to me. During November of 2013, he and my sister-in-law moved to our city. It is his hometown, however he has been away from here for many years. I am proud of his serving 20 years in the armed forces before retiring at a young age. I tried to discourage him from moving by letting him know that it is not so great living here. Besides, my family and I wanted to be able to visit them sometime later. However, he wanted to be near family members who live here.

I would be happy to meet my brother now, because he is so thoughtful, giving, and a gentleman. He is always willing to help my family and me, if we need transportation for my daughter after she gets off work. Last year, he and my sister-in-law traveled across town in the rain to pick me up after church. Then, we went to a neighboring town to eat at the Cracker Barrel Old Country Store ®.

Also, my brother and sister-in-law were so helpful to me last fall when my daughter started a new job in their area of town. I was able to spend the evenings with them until she got off work. This suggestion saved me travel time and gas. I am so grateful for their help. Before they moved here, they were so supportive when there were weddings, funerals and my college graduation. They are still as supportive now that they have moved here.

My brother and sister-in-law are a blessing to my family and me. I appreciate all that they do. Sometimes, we get a chance to go out for lunch or dinner and enjoy each other’s company. Their presence is a great refreshment to our lives. Truthfully, I am thankful that my brother and sister-in-law came to live in our city where we can spend quality time together.

Leave a Reply

